Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Heroism - 9/11 Remembered

Hey everyone. It's me, Megan; I'm back!

Hope you enjoyed reading Kate's posts. Cupcakes are fabulous and our Bohol trip was absolutely amazing. I wish I could go back again :)

I've been thinking about what to write next for my blog and I decided to write about the September 11 incident. Last Wednesday was the 12th Anniversary of 9/11. I was going to post a blog about it (but I painted something instead) in remembrance of the tragedy. I'm fully aware that this is a sensitive subject and I promise I won't spark a debate or an argument with this. Instead of focusing on the incident itself, I'll get into the actions that were done revolving around this day- the heroism and bravery demonstrated that day. 

Last week, my World History teacher sent us a link to a YouTube video regarding the boat rescues during the attack. Lower Manhattan is an island and with all the subways and stations closed, the only way out was to take the boat. Thousands of distressed people lined up at the harbor, which lacked in water transportation, in hopes of leaving the city. The few boats that were there filled up in a flash and it seemed as if the rest were stranded on the island to perish.

Just when they thought all hope was lost, a hundred more boats began to arrive! The relief on the people's faces were priceless. Saving their emotions for later, everyone took action and managed to safely transport all of the residents out of the island.

(here's the link to the video in case you're interested) 


I was touched after watching that video. These boat drivers didn't have to go all the way to Manhattan to save these people. These were people they didn't know and they could have cared less and stayed in the comforts of their homes or wherever they were at that time, safe and sound. But, no, they didn't. They took the risk and sailed off to save hundreds of lives.

The same thing happened while the planes were under attack. Those people didn't have to stop the terrorists. For crying out loud, they, themselves, were under attack. Instead of huddling in the corner and bracing certain death, they stood up against the attackers and took control of the planes. Their plan worked and they managed to change the route of the flight. Also during and after the attacks, several firefighters, police officers and medics arrived at the scene; some even running into the collapsing buildings to see if there was anyone else they could save. 

All these brave actions are what heroism is to me. Everyone has a different explanation of heroism. Well, here is mine. A hero isn't always known. They don't save people for people to see or because it's their job. True heroism is putting others before yourself, knowing that your life is at risk but you do it anyway. 

To those who served and rescued during this tragedy, you have my respect. Thank you for everything you've done.

Rest in peace to all who perished.

(I painted this for the 12th Anniversary of 9/11)

Signing out,
~Megan 

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

The Wonders of Bohol

Hey- its Kate again :). Tired of me yet? I hope not, because I do, once again, have a bit of a story I'd like to tell you- and this is about the beautiful Bohol, which Megan and I went to while she was here.

So this summer (Megan's summer, because its pretty very rainy here in the Philippines), I got the chance to go to Bohol with my close relatives. It was my first time here so I was really excited, and I was really satisfied with Bohol in general- it’s a simple place with so many things to do and experience, and it really represents Filipino attractions.

Bohol had so many places and sites that’s enjoyable for the whole family. I’ll admit that I was a bit mad when we didn't have enough time to see the places more, but I’m still happy that we (as a group) got to go to a lot of places, especially the famous landmarks of Bohol, like the Chocolate Hills. I even got to do things I didn't get to experience yet, like seeing (and touching) a Phyton, and zip-lining. There was just so much interesting history and sights in this place I loved to uncover, and that’s what makes Bohol a wonderful place.
 
 
 
 
(I got this picture from my Instagram :P)

One of the highlights of the trip for me was the boat ride at the Loboc River. The river is spectacularly beautiful with its jade green color and the other beautiful foliage that reminds me of the rivers in Biblical times. Secondly, the boat ride went smoothly and the crew members are really nice and friendly to- we even got to have pictures with them! The buffet wasn't all-out superb but it was fitting for the place and it was still enticing. There was even a cool entertainer singing famous Filipino and English tunes to fit the enjoyable mood!  We also got to a tribe which showed the Philippines more native and traditional side. They danced, blew fire out their mouths and gave us a tribal feel when we visited that tribe. If you're looking for a place to dine all-out Pinoy style, then I'd suggest that you go to the Loboc River for absolute family fun and satisfaction.


 (the passengers on the other boat waved at us- another reason why Bohol is awesome)
 

Another thing I loved was the Chocolate Hills. It’s amazing how hills could take your breath away just by its appearance. Who could blame me though? The Chocolate Hills has lots and lots of beautiful, green hills that spread far and wide, leaving the people who get to see this amazing wonder in total awe. This is one of the reasons why I believe that the Philippines is one of the most beautiful countries in the world (country pride here, people!).


Aside from these, there were many other great things that I (and Megan, of course), got to see and experience, such as visiting their famous cathedral, looking at adorable tarsiers (while they were sleeping), and seeing other monumental areas such as the blood compact statue.
 



 


 
When we got to the hotel, Bellevue, we were extremely tired, yet satisfied with the great tour we just had. The hotel was complete with amenities and they were very hospitable to us. Despite some problems with the extremely low tide of their beach and the dirtiness of it, I had a blast at their hotel because of their great service and facilities that definitely did deserve a thumbs up, like their buffet that serves very scrumptious meals and their activity area that includes ice hockey table, an Xbox, and many, many more. I also did like our room- it was spaced and designed nicely. Everything in the rooms we’re working perfectly and it was a pleasure sleeping in them.
 


 
 
 

The best thing about the trip for me, though, was the fact that I had my close relatives joining me, including Megan. I think that what makes a trip most enjoyable is not only the places you go to and the things you get to experience, but the memories you make with your loved ones.
 
 

Follow Kate at @iamkath_anne on Instagram.

Saturday, September 7, 2013

Cupcake Galore at Cupcake Lab!

Hey guys! It's Kate here, speaking (or writing) to you from the Philippines. I'm really sorry that I didn't post an article in a long time but hopefully I could make it up to you. Instead of writing a long intro about why I was late in writing something, take a look down below and read this blog post of mine. Hope you guys like it!

I love sweets. It’s been my guilty pleasure ever since I was born. I'd always prefer something to satisfy the sweet tooth rather than something savory, and I might even skip the main course but then still eat the dessert. If you buy me chocolates, I'd probably marry you. In short, desserts are my favorite course of the meal.

Brownies, cookies, and ice cream are just some of the sweets that I adore like a little baby that I might have given birth to. It’s the flavor and texture that allures me and makes me want to get more. Unfortunately, there is something that I dislike- chiffon products like cakes and cupcakes. Why? Because the sponge always overpowers the whole thing and its consistency just makes me puke. Even though you have the best flavor combination, and have the best plating, I don't think I'm going to pleasure eating it.

Until I tried Cupcake Lab.

After watching a movie, my mom and I saw this nice little shop called 'Cupcake Lab'. It was a simple store, but it has a bit of that that Instagram-worthy aura- you know, the ones that look all nice and neat and totally picture-worthy.

 
 
 
Of course, I just had to try it. I mean, who could resist a nice little cupcake in its nice little container from a nice little cupcake shop with a spinning sign? Ignoring the fact that I hate chiffon products, my mom and I purchased their bestselling cupcake Red Velvet, and Peanut Butter Smores, a flavor that I wanted to taste the most. I was just hoping that this time, the appearance of the decadent treat would be as good as its taste.
 

 

It was delicious; it was moist, but not too moist as to it crumbling up in your hands. The proportion of the icing and the cake mixture was balanced, and each element complimented each other perfectly. The flavor of the treat wowed me with its accuracy and its originality. I was blown away.
Its simplicity mixed with the premium taste of their cupcakes is what really makes it a memorable place. Even though it might not look as fancy as the others, I admire the fact that they keep it simple, yet 100% tasty in my opinion- you don't have to be over-the-top to be amazing.
I would definitely recommend you guys to go to Cupcake Lab and try their delicious cupcakes. It is truly one of the best (or maybe the best) cupcake shops I have ever went too.

 

Located at 2nd Level of The Podium, #12 ADB Avenue, Ortigas Center and Lower Level, Promenade, Greenhills Shopping Center, Ortigas Ave. , Greenhills. Call (02)4002296 or 09184451749 for inquiries. Follow them on Twitter and Instagram with the handle @cupcakelabph, and like their page on Facebook at www.fb.com/CupcakeLab.
 

Thursday, September 5, 2013

Sophomore Schedule - A.K.A My Destiny (Doodles Added!)

Hey Guys! Megan is Back!


First of all, wooo! It's Labor Day Weekend! I finally have some time to blog! 

Well I've been thinking.... what do normal people blog about...? O.o Kate and I want to become famous bloggers someday but we don't actually know where to start... Hmmm I gusss we'll just write stuff out and see what happens. You know, the randomness guarantwe we promised.


Long time no post. As the title says, my week was pretty busy.Yeah, yeah I know. Basically EVERY high school kid complains about going to school, especially the first week of school. Well, try looking at things from my perspective. I flew out from the Philippines last Friday (August 23) and arrived here in Connecticut almost 24 hours later. A 2 hour and a 15 hour flight, 12-hour time difference, aching stomach, barely enough sleep... Oh and did I mention, I came back 2 days before school started. Yep. I had less than 2 days to rest up. Whoopie.


My friends actually had a welcome-back party planned out for me but unfortunately  I couldn't go since I had a TON of unpacking to do

Anyway,(I say this a lot in case you haven't noticed) what's a jetlagged kid gonna do on her first day as a sophomore? I can't just not go to school. The first day is pretty important since it's when you go see your classes and stuff. Well, that's how it works here in America anyway (see. I did it again) We got our schedules late July and we get to run around like lab rats on the first day to find our classes and sit in each one to get orientated on the course we're taking.

How's my schedule? JUST FANTASTIC.


I have Algebra first thing in the morning. I'm pretty sure almost everyone's brains don't function too well at 7 am and just my luck cause I stink at math. No, seriously. Numbers make my head spin. I just can't grasp concepts involving mathematical fancies and stuff. Geometry was a nightmare last year.


Art and Design is my next class, in other words, my favorite time of the day. I have a strong love-hate relationship with Art. At times it can be extremely fustrating but once I get it right, I feel like the most accomplished person in the world.I won't say I'm good at it (yet); I still have a long long way to go but hey, that's why I'm taking this class. 

Plus the teacher knows me from last year and he's awesome! Sarcastic people are fantastic.


After Art, I have to run to the other side of the building to take my English class. Our teacher actually seems pretty chill. She kept going on about how she wants to sound human and she does.

Guess what? Lunch at 10 o' clock! I got the earliest lunch wave and believe me, if I had a choice I would have taken something later. 10 am is usually the time Kate has her breakfast!

Right after lunch, I take one floor up going to the World Languages hall to go to French. My French teacher was hired a few days before school started and she's probably more confused than the freshmen. I feel sort of bad for her. My class is full of clowns.

I dash from French to go to History. Well, it's the first week but this class is extremely quiet for some reason. I guess it's the wrong mix of people?

From History, I run to Spanish. (yes, I take two languages. Long story behind that) I wanted to drop this course but I kinda forced myself to take it and now I'm faced with my fast-talking-close-to-zero-percent-English-speaking Spanish teacher, Yes, he knows how to speak in English but he prefers letting us get nosebleeds with his extremely fluent Spanish. I got yelled at twice or thrice on the first day for speaking in English when I was just asking my friend, Katie, how to say something in Spanish

Um, so anyway, after nosebleeds I'm off to Chemistry. Oh, I've loved Science ever since I was a little kid and in Grade 6, I had this crazy idea of becoming a forensic scientist. Well, I'm still sticking to that dream. 


Sadly, I'm not in  AP Chemistry (Advanced Placement/College-leveled class); I'm only in the honors level (which is just harder than a regular Chemistry class.) I feel bad I couldn't get into a more intensive class but something was pulling me back even though I could have asked the teacher for a recommendation change.

My classes after Chemistry depend on what day it is. On Monday's and Wednesday's I have a Cafe Study. It's a period where you get to do nothing in the cafe. On Tuesdays, I have another period of Chemistry. On Thrusdays and Fridays, I have gym for the first half of this quarter and Health for the next half. The state of Connecticut requires sophomores to take this fitness test to reach their standards or whatever. I should say that I'm the most unathletic person on the planet. I can't even do one sit up :( (Kate knows my pain)


I don't have the best schedule on the planet but hey, at least I don't have Math before Chemistry or French succeding Spanish.. That kind of stuff 0__0 The worst part is the fact that I hardly have any classes with my friends. I mean, there are some people I know but I don't really talk to... Plus there's this really fierce girl in my history class so debating will be quite a task against her. 

I'm getting nervous. Fast-speaking Spanish teacher, Lunch at 10, Algebra first thing in the morning, the  fitness exam, friends having an entirely different schedule... Wonder how this school year will turn out? :(


Sorry if this sounds too much like a rant. I tend to worry too much and panic. Well, have a happy Labor Day weekend if you're living in America! If you're from somewhere else, have a great day! I really appreciate you all! :D

Signing out,
Megan

Sunday, August 25, 2013

La Creperie- the French Crêpe Experience

Its Kate. Hello, nice to talk to you guys :)

Crêpes has always been a favorite of ours (Megan and I), but we always stuck to 1 creperie which we deemed the best. So, when we tried La Crêperie on a lazy Monday afternoon to dine for lunch, our standards for crêpe definitely rose up spectacularly and left us wanting more of their irresistible dishes.

The whole atmosphere is just like how you would imagine it if you were in France- dainty, fancy and the perfect place to eat and converse with friends. Lined with pretty wallpapers and furniture, adorned with French books and figurines (I LOVE their mini Eiffel Tower), and finished off with fabulous paintings and other art,  the whole place would give you an attachment to it's cute, dainty feel.


Next of (and not to mention my favorite part of this French wonderland) is the food. Let me just say that the chefs here do have a lot of skill in the art of making scrumptious crêpes. They look absolutely Instagram-able and they are plated to perfection. The taste also satisfied our high expectations of the plated delicacy. The one I tried, Salidou (which, by the way, wasn't the only one I tried since I went there a lot of times), was excellent even though it was the simplest of combinations- caramel, crêpe, and whipping cream. I also recommend the Mango Peach Nutella (The name says it all; it's basically a regular crepe coated with Nutella, inside and out. Peach and mango slices are found inside the crepe. It sounds simple but it's delicious!), Mango Hazelnut au Chocolate (my favorite actually- it's a chocolate crepe stuffed with mangoes with caramel drizzled over it), and the Strawberry Mango Jubillee (a crepe with strawberries, kiwis and mangoes as the toppings along with the ice cream).



If you are craving for a more savory dish then that is not a problem. La Creperie also has French savory lines such as pasta and soup. They also have savory crepes too!

The crêpes in La Crêperie are so good that you could eat their sweet decadant crepes even though you haven’t had actual lunch (which was what we did). It’s a very, very, and I exaggerate, VERY, good creperie. I would definitely recommend all of you to come here and enjoy the food as much as I and Megan do.


~
La Creperie is located at F. Calderon, San Juan, Manila.
Prices range from P150-P315
 

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

Boracay- Powder Sand, Crystal Seas, Parasailing and Other Adventures


Hey guys. Megan here.
The previous blog probably confused you. I live in America but since it’s our summer, I’m here in the Philippines. I’ve been here for a while; let’s say since the first of July? Ever since, I’ve been touring around a little and hanging out with my cousins while visiting my old friends too- in other words, summer is going great for me!

Just recently, I was in the world-famous beach Boracay with all my relatives. They definitely weren’t lying when they said the beach is amazing. Amazing is an understatement. It was freaking fantastic *__* Take a look:



No offense to American beaches but they got nothing on the ones in the Philippines. Especially Boracay. The sand is literally powder. You know those shores where you want to walk barefoot in but decide that it’s not a good idea because it’s rocky and really uncomfortable? Not a problem in Boracay. The airports are pretty tiny there. We landed in Caticlan and headed off to Boracay by boat. It wasn’t a long ride but the waves were rough and I get seasick easily.

After a few minutes, we arrived in Boracay. The place is structured like this: There are several hotels by the shore and beyond that, there are other places to explore in Boracay aside from the beach, so go check them out when you’re there.

Okay so where was I? Once we arrived, we took a shuttle to get to our hotel, Astoria. It was only 8 in the morning when we got there. Yep. Our flight was pretty early. Well, that gave us some extra time to spare and drop by a restaurant for breakfast. There are a ton of restaurants and stores along the shore, most which you may recognize. The local souvenir stores usually have good prices and you can try to bargain for an even lower price. They have all these cool items like tribal necklaces, pearl earrings, shell key chains and even figurines made out of shells.

(We also met a really interesting person at the tribal shop. I swear, I didn't even notice he photobombed this picture of my cousin until Kate and I were looking over the photos in the shuttle going to the airport. I wonder if anyone of you recognize him....?)


Being a popular beach, Boracay offers a wide range of activities such as fly fish, parasailing, banana boat, Jet Ski, horseback riding (I didn’t actually see this though), kite surfing, and riding speedboats. It shouldn’t be too hard to find an activity to do- hawkers are all around and you’ll easily bump into one. Hmm, I guess I should rephrase that. You don’t have to approach them; they’ll approach you. I lost track on how many times they tried to get me to sign up for the activities. Try to haggle and you can get a pretty good price.

Be careful who you buy from, though- one guy tricked us. He said if we paid him P1000, we wouldn’t have to wait in line, contrast to the P800, so we went for the more expensive parasailing. We rode a boat to go to farther into the sea and guess what? We ended up waiting for an hour. Aside from being frustrated, it was all worth it. Parasailing is amazing and surprisingly, I found it relaxing (I have a slight fear of heights). When they lifted us into the air, it’s pretty quick so hold on tight but the moments after that were, like I said, relaxing. Okay, Kate was with me and we were talking the entire time about falling off but trust me, it’s completely safe. Aside from our talking, it was almost completely silent up there. Windy, but relaxing. As we landed, we got to have our legs dipped into the sea (they don’t dip your entire body, not even half body so don’t worry about getting your shorts wet.) There are mixed opinions about parasailing. The people who we shared the boat with didn’t really like it unlike Kate and I. They preferred riding on the fly boat (a vertical jumpy boat ride which you have to hold on to so you don’t fall off), but in all honesty, I think the boat ride back to shore was wild enough. We sat in the front and I might have fallen off if I wasn’t holding on to the random rope that was dangling from the tip of the boat.



We spent the rest of the afternoon swimming in the pool by our resort cause it was raining (I don’t know if that makes any sense but think about it, it wouldn’t be nice if we were at the beach while it was raining so why not swim in a nice pool instead?).

We were pretty exhausted that day and had dinner at an Italian restaurant. Kate actually fell asleep there but was completely energized when she saw people putting on a fire show. I thought what they were wearing was kinda explicit but when you’re playing with flames, I don't think you want to set your clothes on fire.


The next day, we rode a buggy car around the other places, and we also climbed a famous tower there that has 194 stairs. We went zip lining afterwards in the fastest zip line in the Philippines, and I gotta admit it was really fun and I wanted to go again.



Instead of swimming, we decided to walk around the entire area and we got to the end in an hour or so. I’m glad we found a paraw boat to escort us back to our Station. Bumpy ride but it was really fun. We tried walking towards the other end but it was getting too late and I could barely see a thing in the dark so we just went back.

Our final day in Boracay pretty much consisted of us walking towards the other end which was full of rocks, but it was a very nice view.




Boracay was great even though I got seasick most of the time while I was on the boat. The best part? I got to spend time with almost all my relatives. Sure, trips are expensive, but the moments and the memories you make are priceless.


Well, that's our first official blog! Hope you guys like it! :D

Signing out
~Megan