Sunday, August 25, 2013

La Creperie- the French Crêpe Experience

Its Kate. Hello, nice to talk to you guys :)

Crêpes has always been a favorite of ours (Megan and I), but we always stuck to 1 creperie which we deemed the best. So, when we tried La Crêperie on a lazy Monday afternoon to dine for lunch, our standards for crêpe definitely rose up spectacularly and left us wanting more of their irresistible dishes.

The whole atmosphere is just like how you would imagine it if you were in France- dainty, fancy and the perfect place to eat and converse with friends. Lined with pretty wallpapers and furniture, adorned with French books and figurines (I LOVE their mini Eiffel Tower), and finished off with fabulous paintings and other art,  the whole place would give you an attachment to it's cute, dainty feel.


Next of (and not to mention my favorite part of this French wonderland) is the food. Let me just say that the chefs here do have a lot of skill in the art of making scrumptious crêpes. They look absolutely Instagram-able and they are plated to perfection. The taste also satisfied our high expectations of the plated delicacy. The one I tried, Salidou (which, by the way, wasn't the only one I tried since I went there a lot of times), was excellent even though it was the simplest of combinations- caramel, crêpe, and whipping cream. I also recommend the Mango Peach Nutella (The name says it all; it's basically a regular crepe coated with Nutella, inside and out. Peach and mango slices are found inside the crepe. It sounds simple but it's delicious!), Mango Hazelnut au Chocolate (my favorite actually- it's a chocolate crepe stuffed with mangoes with caramel drizzled over it), and the Strawberry Mango Jubillee (a crepe with strawberries, kiwis and mangoes as the toppings along with the ice cream).



If you are craving for a more savory dish then that is not a problem. La Creperie also has French savory lines such as pasta and soup. They also have savory crepes too!

The crêpes in La Crêperie are so good that you could eat their sweet decadant crepes even though you haven’t had actual lunch (which was what we did). It’s a very, very, and I exaggerate, VERY, good creperie. I would definitely recommend all of you to come here and enjoy the food as much as I and Megan do.


~
La Creperie is located at F. Calderon, San Juan, Manila.
Prices range from P150-P315
 

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

Boracay- Powder Sand, Crystal Seas, Parasailing and Other Adventures


Hey guys. Megan here.
The previous blog probably confused you. I live in America but since it’s our summer, I’m here in the Philippines. I’ve been here for a while; let’s say since the first of July? Ever since, I’ve been touring around a little and hanging out with my cousins while visiting my old friends too- in other words, summer is going great for me!

Just recently, I was in the world-famous beach Boracay with all my relatives. They definitely weren’t lying when they said the beach is amazing. Amazing is an understatement. It was freaking fantastic *__* Take a look:



No offense to American beaches but they got nothing on the ones in the Philippines. Especially Boracay. The sand is literally powder. You know those shores where you want to walk barefoot in but decide that it’s not a good idea because it’s rocky and really uncomfortable? Not a problem in Boracay. The airports are pretty tiny there. We landed in Caticlan and headed off to Boracay by boat. It wasn’t a long ride but the waves were rough and I get seasick easily.

After a few minutes, we arrived in Boracay. The place is structured like this: There are several hotels by the shore and beyond that, there are other places to explore in Boracay aside from the beach, so go check them out when you’re there.

Okay so where was I? Once we arrived, we took a shuttle to get to our hotel, Astoria. It was only 8 in the morning when we got there. Yep. Our flight was pretty early. Well, that gave us some extra time to spare and drop by a restaurant for breakfast. There are a ton of restaurants and stores along the shore, most which you may recognize. The local souvenir stores usually have good prices and you can try to bargain for an even lower price. They have all these cool items like tribal necklaces, pearl earrings, shell key chains and even figurines made out of shells.

(We also met a really interesting person at the tribal shop. I swear, I didn't even notice he photobombed this picture of my cousin until Kate and I were looking over the photos in the shuttle going to the airport. I wonder if anyone of you recognize him....?)


Being a popular beach, Boracay offers a wide range of activities such as fly fish, parasailing, banana boat, Jet Ski, horseback riding (I didn’t actually see this though), kite surfing, and riding speedboats. It shouldn’t be too hard to find an activity to do- hawkers are all around and you’ll easily bump into one. Hmm, I guess I should rephrase that. You don’t have to approach them; they’ll approach you. I lost track on how many times they tried to get me to sign up for the activities. Try to haggle and you can get a pretty good price.

Be careful who you buy from, though- one guy tricked us. He said if we paid him P1000, we wouldn’t have to wait in line, contrast to the P800, so we went for the more expensive parasailing. We rode a boat to go to farther into the sea and guess what? We ended up waiting for an hour. Aside from being frustrated, it was all worth it. Parasailing is amazing and surprisingly, I found it relaxing (I have a slight fear of heights). When they lifted us into the air, it’s pretty quick so hold on tight but the moments after that were, like I said, relaxing. Okay, Kate was with me and we were talking the entire time about falling off but trust me, it’s completely safe. Aside from our talking, it was almost completely silent up there. Windy, but relaxing. As we landed, we got to have our legs dipped into the sea (they don’t dip your entire body, not even half body so don’t worry about getting your shorts wet.) There are mixed opinions about parasailing. The people who we shared the boat with didn’t really like it unlike Kate and I. They preferred riding on the fly boat (a vertical jumpy boat ride which you have to hold on to so you don’t fall off), but in all honesty, I think the boat ride back to shore was wild enough. We sat in the front and I might have fallen off if I wasn’t holding on to the random rope that was dangling from the tip of the boat.



We spent the rest of the afternoon swimming in the pool by our resort cause it was raining (I don’t know if that makes any sense but think about it, it wouldn’t be nice if we were at the beach while it was raining so why not swim in a nice pool instead?).

We were pretty exhausted that day and had dinner at an Italian restaurant. Kate actually fell asleep there but was completely energized when she saw people putting on a fire show. I thought what they were wearing was kinda explicit but when you’re playing with flames, I don't think you want to set your clothes on fire.


The next day, we rode a buggy car around the other places, and we also climbed a famous tower there that has 194 stairs. We went zip lining afterwards in the fastest zip line in the Philippines, and I gotta admit it was really fun and I wanted to go again.



Instead of swimming, we decided to walk around the entire area and we got to the end in an hour or so. I’m glad we found a paraw boat to escort us back to our Station. Bumpy ride but it was really fun. We tried walking towards the other end but it was getting too late and I could barely see a thing in the dark so we just went back.

Our final day in Boracay pretty much consisted of us walking towards the other end which was full of rocks, but it was a very nice view.




Boracay was great even though I got seasick most of the time while I was on the boat. The best part? I got to spend time with almost all my relatives. Sure, trips are expensive, but the moments and the memories you make are priceless.


Well, that's our first official blog! Hope you guys like it! :D

Signing out
~Megan

Wednesday, August 7, 2013

A Little Introduction

            Before you get doubts about this blog, and go out of this website immediately, we’ll try to keep you here and make you stay here with this little introducing we’re going to do here.

            Hi- I’m Kate, and the other girl’s Megan (she says hi as well). We’re two very close cousins that live in two different continents- she’s in America and I’m in the Philippines. We’d like to share what we have to offer- our craziness, our chaotic stories, and all of the things in between. We’ll share a piece of our wacky life with you.

           I hope you guys would enjoy our blog as much as we do love to write to you ‘fans’ (and hopefully friends because all of you are special to us) of ours. Welcome to our blog, where all of our thoughts and experiences are. Have fun!

-        Kate (my real name is Kathleen but whatever)

Hello, Megan here.
Did you leave yet? Haha I hope not. Give us a chance. We’re not boring. It’s our first time blogging and putting them up on the internet for everyone to see. Kate pretty much summarized our entire (to-be) blog. As she said, we’re cousins who live far, far away from each other (8500 miles is pretty far apart in my opinion). We’ve been close since the day Kate was born (quite literally) and the bond just grew from there. Even when I moved away, we still managed to stay I contact and I feel as if we got even closer because of it. (I can hear Kate “awwwing” in the background)
ANYWAY! That’s enough about our personal life, just thought you needed some backstory. Kate already stole what I was going to say. We created this blog because, well, if you know us, we loooooove to talk about the most random things. By “random”, I mean reaaalllyy random. Expect random blogs from either Kate or I about pretty much anything. Books, rants, TV shows, music, travels, food, issues, our thoughts and our daily lives as normal kids….Yup. Pretty much everything.
Well, hopefully you’ll stick around to read our future blogs and stuff! We love writing and it’ll make us even happier if you’ll love reading our blog!
~Megan (Just Your [Not-So] Average Blogger)