Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Heroism - 9/11 Remembered

Hey everyone. It's me, Megan; I'm back!

Hope you enjoyed reading Kate's posts. Cupcakes are fabulous and our Bohol trip was absolutely amazing. I wish I could go back again :)

I've been thinking about what to write next for my blog and I decided to write about the September 11 incident. Last Wednesday was the 12th Anniversary of 9/11. I was going to post a blog about it (but I painted something instead) in remembrance of the tragedy. I'm fully aware that this is a sensitive subject and I promise I won't spark a debate or an argument with this. Instead of focusing on the incident itself, I'll get into the actions that were done revolving around this day- the heroism and bravery demonstrated that day. 

Last week, my World History teacher sent us a link to a YouTube video regarding the boat rescues during the attack. Lower Manhattan is an island and with all the subways and stations closed, the only way out was to take the boat. Thousands of distressed people lined up at the harbor, which lacked in water transportation, in hopes of leaving the city. The few boats that were there filled up in a flash and it seemed as if the rest were stranded on the island to perish.

Just when they thought all hope was lost, a hundred more boats began to arrive! The relief on the people's faces were priceless. Saving their emotions for later, everyone took action and managed to safely transport all of the residents out of the island.

(here's the link to the video in case you're interested) 


I was touched after watching that video. These boat drivers didn't have to go all the way to Manhattan to save these people. These were people they didn't know and they could have cared less and stayed in the comforts of their homes or wherever they were at that time, safe and sound. But, no, they didn't. They took the risk and sailed off to save hundreds of lives.

The same thing happened while the planes were under attack. Those people didn't have to stop the terrorists. For crying out loud, they, themselves, were under attack. Instead of huddling in the corner and bracing certain death, they stood up against the attackers and took control of the planes. Their plan worked and they managed to change the route of the flight. Also during and after the attacks, several firefighters, police officers and medics arrived at the scene; some even running into the collapsing buildings to see if there was anyone else they could save. 

All these brave actions are what heroism is to me. Everyone has a different explanation of heroism. Well, here is mine. A hero isn't always known. They don't save people for people to see or because it's their job. True heroism is putting others before yourself, knowing that your life is at risk but you do it anyway. 

To those who served and rescued during this tragedy, you have my respect. Thank you for everything you've done.

Rest in peace to all who perished.

(I painted this for the 12th Anniversary of 9/11)

Signing out,
~Megan 

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

The Wonders of Bohol

Hey- its Kate again :). Tired of me yet? I hope not, because I do, once again, have a bit of a story I'd like to tell you- and this is about the beautiful Bohol, which Megan and I went to while she was here.

So this summer (Megan's summer, because its pretty very rainy here in the Philippines), I got the chance to go to Bohol with my close relatives. It was my first time here so I was really excited, and I was really satisfied with Bohol in general- it’s a simple place with so many things to do and experience, and it really represents Filipino attractions.

Bohol had so many places and sites that’s enjoyable for the whole family. I’ll admit that I was a bit mad when we didn't have enough time to see the places more, but I’m still happy that we (as a group) got to go to a lot of places, especially the famous landmarks of Bohol, like the Chocolate Hills. I even got to do things I didn't get to experience yet, like seeing (and touching) a Phyton, and zip-lining. There was just so much interesting history and sights in this place I loved to uncover, and that’s what makes Bohol a wonderful place.
 
 
 
 
(I got this picture from my Instagram :P)

One of the highlights of the trip for me was the boat ride at the Loboc River. The river is spectacularly beautiful with its jade green color and the other beautiful foliage that reminds me of the rivers in Biblical times. Secondly, the boat ride went smoothly and the crew members are really nice and friendly to- we even got to have pictures with them! The buffet wasn't all-out superb but it was fitting for the place and it was still enticing. There was even a cool entertainer singing famous Filipino and English tunes to fit the enjoyable mood!  We also got to a tribe which showed the Philippines more native and traditional side. They danced, blew fire out their mouths and gave us a tribal feel when we visited that tribe. If you're looking for a place to dine all-out Pinoy style, then I'd suggest that you go to the Loboc River for absolute family fun and satisfaction.


 (the passengers on the other boat waved at us- another reason why Bohol is awesome)
 

Another thing I loved was the Chocolate Hills. It’s amazing how hills could take your breath away just by its appearance. Who could blame me though? The Chocolate Hills has lots and lots of beautiful, green hills that spread far and wide, leaving the people who get to see this amazing wonder in total awe. This is one of the reasons why I believe that the Philippines is one of the most beautiful countries in the world (country pride here, people!).


Aside from these, there were many other great things that I (and Megan, of course), got to see and experience, such as visiting their famous cathedral, looking at adorable tarsiers (while they were sleeping), and seeing other monumental areas such as the blood compact statue.
 



 


 
When we got to the hotel, Bellevue, we were extremely tired, yet satisfied with the great tour we just had. The hotel was complete with amenities and they were very hospitable to us. Despite some problems with the extremely low tide of their beach and the dirtiness of it, I had a blast at their hotel because of their great service and facilities that definitely did deserve a thumbs up, like their buffet that serves very scrumptious meals and their activity area that includes ice hockey table, an Xbox, and many, many more. I also did like our room- it was spaced and designed nicely. Everything in the rooms we’re working perfectly and it was a pleasure sleeping in them.
 


 
 
 

The best thing about the trip for me, though, was the fact that I had my close relatives joining me, including Megan. I think that what makes a trip most enjoyable is not only the places you go to and the things you get to experience, but the memories you make with your loved ones.
 
 

Follow Kate at @iamkath_anne on Instagram.

Saturday, September 7, 2013

Cupcake Galore at Cupcake Lab!

Hey guys! It's Kate here, speaking (or writing) to you from the Philippines. I'm really sorry that I didn't post an article in a long time but hopefully I could make it up to you. Instead of writing a long intro about why I was late in writing something, take a look down below and read this blog post of mine. Hope you guys like it!

I love sweets. It’s been my guilty pleasure ever since I was born. I'd always prefer something to satisfy the sweet tooth rather than something savory, and I might even skip the main course but then still eat the dessert. If you buy me chocolates, I'd probably marry you. In short, desserts are my favorite course of the meal.

Brownies, cookies, and ice cream are just some of the sweets that I adore like a little baby that I might have given birth to. It’s the flavor and texture that allures me and makes me want to get more. Unfortunately, there is something that I dislike- chiffon products like cakes and cupcakes. Why? Because the sponge always overpowers the whole thing and its consistency just makes me puke. Even though you have the best flavor combination, and have the best plating, I don't think I'm going to pleasure eating it.

Until I tried Cupcake Lab.

After watching a movie, my mom and I saw this nice little shop called 'Cupcake Lab'. It was a simple store, but it has a bit of that that Instagram-worthy aura- you know, the ones that look all nice and neat and totally picture-worthy.

 
 
 
Of course, I just had to try it. I mean, who could resist a nice little cupcake in its nice little container from a nice little cupcake shop with a spinning sign? Ignoring the fact that I hate chiffon products, my mom and I purchased their bestselling cupcake Red Velvet, and Peanut Butter Smores, a flavor that I wanted to taste the most. I was just hoping that this time, the appearance of the decadent treat would be as good as its taste.
 

 

It was delicious; it was moist, but not too moist as to it crumbling up in your hands. The proportion of the icing and the cake mixture was balanced, and each element complimented each other perfectly. The flavor of the treat wowed me with its accuracy and its originality. I was blown away.
Its simplicity mixed with the premium taste of their cupcakes is what really makes it a memorable place. Even though it might not look as fancy as the others, I admire the fact that they keep it simple, yet 100% tasty in my opinion- you don't have to be over-the-top to be amazing.
I would definitely recommend you guys to go to Cupcake Lab and try their delicious cupcakes. It is truly one of the best (or maybe the best) cupcake shops I have ever went too.

 

Located at 2nd Level of The Podium, #12 ADB Avenue, Ortigas Center and Lower Level, Promenade, Greenhills Shopping Center, Ortigas Ave. , Greenhills. Call (02)4002296 or 09184451749 for inquiries. Follow them on Twitter and Instagram with the handle @cupcakelabph, and like their page on Facebook at www.fb.com/CupcakeLab.
 

Thursday, September 5, 2013

Sophomore Schedule - A.K.A My Destiny (Doodles Added!)

Hey Guys! Megan is Back!


First of all, wooo! It's Labor Day Weekend! I finally have some time to blog! 

Well I've been thinking.... what do normal people blog about...? O.o Kate and I want to become famous bloggers someday but we don't actually know where to start... Hmmm I gusss we'll just write stuff out and see what happens. You know, the randomness guarantwe we promised.


Long time no post. As the title says, my week was pretty busy.Yeah, yeah I know. Basically EVERY high school kid complains about going to school, especially the first week of school. Well, try looking at things from my perspective. I flew out from the Philippines last Friday (August 23) and arrived here in Connecticut almost 24 hours later. A 2 hour and a 15 hour flight, 12-hour time difference, aching stomach, barely enough sleep... Oh and did I mention, I came back 2 days before school started. Yep. I had less than 2 days to rest up. Whoopie.


My friends actually had a welcome-back party planned out for me but unfortunately  I couldn't go since I had a TON of unpacking to do

Anyway,(I say this a lot in case you haven't noticed) what's a jetlagged kid gonna do on her first day as a sophomore? I can't just not go to school. The first day is pretty important since it's when you go see your classes and stuff. Well, that's how it works here in America anyway (see. I did it again) We got our schedules late July and we get to run around like lab rats on the first day to find our classes and sit in each one to get orientated on the course we're taking.

How's my schedule? JUST FANTASTIC.


I have Algebra first thing in the morning. I'm pretty sure almost everyone's brains don't function too well at 7 am and just my luck cause I stink at math. No, seriously. Numbers make my head spin. I just can't grasp concepts involving mathematical fancies and stuff. Geometry was a nightmare last year.


Art and Design is my next class, in other words, my favorite time of the day. I have a strong love-hate relationship with Art. At times it can be extremely fustrating but once I get it right, I feel like the most accomplished person in the world.I won't say I'm good at it (yet); I still have a long long way to go but hey, that's why I'm taking this class. 

Plus the teacher knows me from last year and he's awesome! Sarcastic people are fantastic.


After Art, I have to run to the other side of the building to take my English class. Our teacher actually seems pretty chill. She kept going on about how she wants to sound human and she does.

Guess what? Lunch at 10 o' clock! I got the earliest lunch wave and believe me, if I had a choice I would have taken something later. 10 am is usually the time Kate has her breakfast!

Right after lunch, I take one floor up going to the World Languages hall to go to French. My French teacher was hired a few days before school started and she's probably more confused than the freshmen. I feel sort of bad for her. My class is full of clowns.

I dash from French to go to History. Well, it's the first week but this class is extremely quiet for some reason. I guess it's the wrong mix of people?

From History, I run to Spanish. (yes, I take two languages. Long story behind that) I wanted to drop this course but I kinda forced myself to take it and now I'm faced with my fast-talking-close-to-zero-percent-English-speaking Spanish teacher, Yes, he knows how to speak in English but he prefers letting us get nosebleeds with his extremely fluent Spanish. I got yelled at twice or thrice on the first day for speaking in English when I was just asking my friend, Katie, how to say something in Spanish

Um, so anyway, after nosebleeds I'm off to Chemistry. Oh, I've loved Science ever since I was a little kid and in Grade 6, I had this crazy idea of becoming a forensic scientist. Well, I'm still sticking to that dream. 


Sadly, I'm not in  AP Chemistry (Advanced Placement/College-leveled class); I'm only in the honors level (which is just harder than a regular Chemistry class.) I feel bad I couldn't get into a more intensive class but something was pulling me back even though I could have asked the teacher for a recommendation change.

My classes after Chemistry depend on what day it is. On Monday's and Wednesday's I have a Cafe Study. It's a period where you get to do nothing in the cafe. On Tuesdays, I have another period of Chemistry. On Thrusdays and Fridays, I have gym for the first half of this quarter and Health for the next half. The state of Connecticut requires sophomores to take this fitness test to reach their standards or whatever. I should say that I'm the most unathletic person on the planet. I can't even do one sit up :( (Kate knows my pain)


I don't have the best schedule on the planet but hey, at least I don't have Math before Chemistry or French succeding Spanish.. That kind of stuff 0__0 The worst part is the fact that I hardly have any classes with my friends. I mean, there are some people I know but I don't really talk to... Plus there's this really fierce girl in my history class so debating will be quite a task against her. 

I'm getting nervous. Fast-speaking Spanish teacher, Lunch at 10, Algebra first thing in the morning, the  fitness exam, friends having an entirely different schedule... Wonder how this school year will turn out? :(


Sorry if this sounds too much like a rant. I tend to worry too much and panic. Well, have a happy Labor Day weekend if you're living in America! If you're from somewhere else, have a great day! I really appreciate you all! :D

Signing out,
Megan